Kiffblog

January 21, 2010

Humble

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:21 pm

Matthew 23:12 Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

Humility is a tricky thing.  It’s the one thing no-one can ever say they’re good at.  As soon as I think that I’m humble, I’ve just proved that I’m not.

When I read a verse like this it always stops me, given that I serve in an upfront, visible ministry.  The stage is the perfect place for those who want to exalt themselves.  (I’d like to think that we don’t have anyone in the worship ministry who fits that description and we’ve certainly turned away some who’ve come asking how they get on the stage.)  I always need to check my motives are right: to worship You and to lead others in worshipping You.

The key for humility for me is not seeking recognition, which is the area I would struggle most with.  I like to be noticed, acknowledged, praised for what I do, as much in church as in any area of my life.  What You spoke against were those who crave attention, priority and titles.  Help me to graciously accept thanks whilst never seeking it.  Help me to serve in secret as much as possible.  Help me to be humble, knowing that without You I’m nothing.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

