Kiffblog

June 8, 2010

Action and reaction

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 11:22 pm

James 2:14 What good is it, my brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can that faith save him?

I am saved through Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross.  He, being the only perfect man ever, paid a price that I couldn’t pay to offer me a salvation that I could never achieve through my own efforts.  I must have faith in Jesus and this faith is not something that can remain as a concept or a feeling.  The faith Jesus described cried out for tangible evidence.

Often the debate is about whether we’re saved by faith or works.  I read it as clear statement of fact that I am saved by faith and the evidence of that faith is works. Acts by themselves cannot save.  Likewise, if the action of Jesus doesn’t provoke a visible reaction from me then does it mean anything to me?  Sometimes I’d rather just have faith and get on with my life as I see fit but that’s not what I’m called to do.  The works I do show the faith I have.  If I profess to have faith but do nothing about it I’m just someone who would rather not go to hell.  I cannot ignore this scripture: I have to act on what I claim to believe.  I try some of the time and I fail some of the time.

Lord, I do believe.  I do have faith in Your amazing gift of true life on this earth and for eternity.  Thank You that when I mess up You don’t disqualify me.  Help me to live a life of works that demonstrate my faith and serve as an offering of thanks to You.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

