Kiffblog

July 3, 2010

Weak points

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 10:15 pm

Matthew 4:3 And the tempter came and said to him, If you are the Son of God, command these stones to become loaves of bread.

…6 and said to him, If you are the Son of God, throw yourself down, for it is written, He will command his angels concerning you, and On their hands they will bear you up, lest you strike your foot against a stone.

…8 Again, the devil took him to a very high mountain and showed him all the kingdoms of the world and their glory.9 And he said to him, All these I will give you, if you will fall down and worship me.

Interesting to note the things that Satan tried to use to tempt Jesus.  As the only perfect man ever, if Satan thought these things might work on Jesus then they are definitely things to watch out for.

  1. Physical needs: the temptation is to put my comfort ahead of Your call.  To prioritise food, rest and relaxation above what really needs to be done.  I need to be prepared to sacrifice my supposed ‘needs’ to fulfilling my mission.
  2. My way first: to decide that You’ll look after me whatever I do so I should just go ahead and do it.  To pray, “Lord bless me”, as I make a stupid decision or something You’ve never asked me to do.  I need to listen and act on what You’ve commanded, not to go my own way and demand that You tag along.
  3. Fame, power and possessions: to chase the things of the world and to worship them before You.  To give my heart to something other than You for the promise of temporary gain.  I must focus my eyes on You, pn what You’ve done for me and what You have in store for me in this world and the next.

If Satan thought those things might trap Jesus then he’s certain to try them on a sinner like me.  But like Jesus I have the Word as my weapon and I have the strength to resist.  Help me Lord to spot the enemy’s subtle snares and to walk straight past, eyes set on You.

1 Comment »

  1. Amen brother, the devil uses the same trick over and over to win us our souls. his trick is to seperate us from the love of GOD & entice us with worldly possessions, fame & power. We need to learn to live like Jesus lived on earth, the devil has been defeated he has no power us anymore.

    Comment by Evans — July 4, 2010 @ 6:35 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

