Kiffblog

July 12, 2010

Just ask

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 10:42 pm

Matthew 13:36 Then he left the crowds and went into the house. And his disciples came to him, saying, Explain to us the parable of the weeds of the field.

In the middle of a barrage of parable, one thing set the disciples apart from the rest of the people.  They actually asked Jesus what He meant.  They weren’t satisfied with nice stories or parables with an uncertain meaning.  They wanted the pure, naked truth.  They asked and Jesus explained – that’s how simple it was.

Lord let me never be satisfied with deep words or interesting stories.  Give me a hunger for the truth, a spirit that asks “what does this mean and what do I do with it?”.  Give me boldness in studying Your word to seek real heart wisdom rather than head knowledge.

1 Comment »

  1. I am so fortunate to have developed the hunger that you speak of. I grew up in a Baptist church so the Old Testament was rarely ever preached; however, Jesus often refers to the the “Law of Moses.”

    Luke 10:27,28 CEV The man replied, “The Scriptures say, `Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, strength, and mind.’ They also say, `Love your neighbors as much as you love yourself.’ ”

    28Jesus said, “You have given the right answer. If you do this, you will have eternal life.”

    I learned that verse 27 is refering to the Ten Commandments. The first four demonstrates love for God and the rest demonstrates love for your neighbor (people).

    Then I needed to know what the Ten Commandments mean. When I got to the fourth, ‘Remember the Sabbath Day to keep it holy’ I switched from Sunday to Saturday as my day of rest. This was a huge. I am trying to obey the Word of God correctly now. And Jesus gives the permission to walk against popular belief that the Sabbath was ever changed in the first place.

    Hebrews 13:8,9 CEV 8Jesus Christ never changes! He is the same yesterday, today, and forever. 9Don’t be fooled by any kind of strange teachings.

    Jesus kept the Sabbath, and so shall I.
    Jesus also gives other instructions…as I continue to grow in Christ, may I have the wisdom and the ear to hear and understand what Jesus shares in His Word, in Jesus name, amen.

    Comment by Natasha — July 13, 2010 @ 5:33 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

