Kiffblog

August 8, 2010

Making the best of it

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 1:04 pm

Jeremiah 29:5 Build houses and live in them; plant gardens and eat their produce.67 But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the Lord on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare. Take wives and have sons and daughters; take wives for your sons, and give your daughters in marriage, that they may bear sons and daughters; multiply there, and do not decrease.

Everyone loves Jeremiah 29:11.  We love to take it to heart and dwell in the fact that You have a plan and a future for us.  It’s very easy though to ignore the context of this verse, even the one verse before it.  This was a promise to the Israelites to bring them out of Babylon and return them to the Promised Land… in seventy year’s time.  I want Your plan to be worked out in me, I want the future You have for me, but am I willing to wait seventy years for it?

You have spoken clearly to me through this whole passage in the last couple of weeks.  You have a plan for me which will be fulfilled one day.  For now, whilst I may not be at my destination, I am to do what I do to the best of my ability, to prosper and grow.  I am not to sit and wait, dreaming about what You may have in store or complaining about not being where I want to be.  You have a plan and it will be worked out in Your time.  In the meantime there is a life to be lived to the full and to Your glory.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

