Kiffblog

August 14, 2010

If

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 8:06 am

1 Kings 9:4 And as for you, if you will walk before me, as David your father walked, with integrity of heart and uprightness, doing according to all that I have commanded you, and keeping my statutes and my rules,

Solomon was given some amazing promises and some clear conditions to keep.  There were rules to follow and consequences for obedience or disobedience.  He had a wonderful life open to him but forgot the conditions it was founded on.

In some ways this jars with me.  I love the concepts and application of grace and mercy – receiving what I don’t deserve and not suffering what I do.  The idea of having conditions attached doesn’t appeal quite as much.  I do know that Your love is unconditional.  I know that I could never earn Your favour through what I do or don’t do.  The harder truth is that I cannot live without consequences.  If I live in rebellion I can hardly expect rewarding for that – it would be a mockery of the idea of a loving and just father.  A good father encourages what is good for the child and disciplines away from destructive behaviour.

I think I’ve typed my way to a bit more clarity.  I’m thankful that You love me unconditionally.  I’m also thankful that you love me enough to not let me do whatever I want.  You really do know best.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

