Kiffblog

September 7, 2010

I’m weaker than you

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 6:21 pm

2 Corinthians 11:30 If I must boast, I will boast of the things that show my weakness.

This a completely upside-down back-to-front statement from Paul.  Boasting, by normal worldly standards, is about talking up achievements and making myself seem as great as possible, preferably at the expense of others.  Kingdom boasting is the complete opposite.  It’s making as little as possible of my achievements and bragging about my failures.  The point of this is to make anything You’ve done through me reflect straight back at You, so that You get the glory You deserve, and to lift others up above myself.

Help me Lord to follow Your standards rather than those of the world.  Help me to avoid both arrogance and false humility but to always point the way straight to You.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

