Kiffblog

January 14, 2012

No boundaries to grace

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:31 pm

Luke 8:26 Then they sailed to the country of the Gerasenes, which is opposite Galilee.

I’ve read this story of the demon-possessed man before, enjoyed the outcome of deliverance, wondered a little at the pig aspect… and then today I read a footnote that gave me a new perspective.  The presence of a herd of pigs highlights that this was a Gentile region.  This was outside Jesus’ remit.  He had come to the Jews, something He explicitly stated.  When a need was in front of Him though He didn’t draw distinctions – He met the need and delivered the man.

It’s easy to draw lines as to what I will and won’t do.  Sometimes there are good motives behind this, trying to focus my energies on things that I’m gifted and anointed in and avoiding those that other people are better suited for.  Sometimes though I just need to meet the need that’s staring me in the face.  If Jesus didn’t draw boundaries when it came to dispensing grace then neither should I.

Help me Lord to see the needs right in front of me that you want me to meet.  Give me a heart that is overflowing with Your love and grace.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

