Kiffblog

February 1, 2012

Prayer of the living

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:13 pm

Psalm 31:5  Into your hand I commit my spirit;
you have redeemed me, O Lord, faithful God.

When I read this verse I think of Jesus’ final words on the cross.  I’d somehow not really noticed them in this Psalm before.  I’ve always thought of these words as a prayer for the final moments before death.  Seeing them in this different context puts them in a new light.  They are also a prayer of the living.

If I commit my spirit to You just at the end I’ve missed out.  This is a prayer of surrender to someone stronger, more perfect, more loving, who cares about my situation and is able to deliver me or to sustain me.  Your will not mine, because Your will is perfect and mine is messed up.  Take care of me because I do a lousy job of it on my own.  Anchor me when I’m drifting.  Be my strength when I’m ready to give up.

Into Your hand I commit my spirit; You have redeemed me, O Lord, Faithful God.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

