Kiffblog

February 20, 2012

Speak out

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:50 pm

Acts 18:9 And the Lord said to Paul one night in a vision, “Do not be afraid, but go on speaking and do not be silent,10 for I am with you, and no one will attack you to harm you, for I have many in this city who are my people.”

There’s a time to be silent and a time to speak out.  I think when it comes to telling the good news, my default setting should be “on” – I speak until I hear otherwise.  Paul doesn’t come across as a shy man, or one who was easily intimidated and silenced, but he needed that extra word from You to stay and continue his work.  If even the great apostle Paul needed to be told sometimes to not be silent, there’s hope for me yet.

The even greater encouragement was in his reason to keep speaking – You were with him.  I know that what was true for Paul in the first century holds true for me today in the twenty-first century.  You are with me.  That should be all the confidence and courage I ever need.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

