Kiffblog

February 26, 2012

The way out?

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 10:18 pm

Psalm 57:2  I cry out to God Most High,
to God who fulfills his purpose for me.

This is a bold and slightly dangerous statement in some ways.  It’s a cry for help when David was running from Saul and hiding in a cave, in fear for his life.  He cried to ‘God who fulfills his purpose for me’, not ‘God who answers my every prayer’.  Of course he wanted You to answer his prayer, so this plea came from a place of confidence.  He was confident that Your purpose for him was to deliver him because You had promised that he would be king of Israel.  It was a dangerous prayer because he didn’t know how this plan would be worked out.  There was no promise of plain sailing, of a trouble-free life or a continuous upwards trajectory.

This is one of those ‘not my will’ prayers, born out of a strong confidence that You have a purpose and Your purpose is good.  Your plan is higher than my plan and so I cry for help, knowing that it may not be best for You to deliver me right now.  It’s a prayer that acknowledges that the desired outcome is in Your power but not necessarily Your will.

Give me faith that Your will is perfect, especially when my will is different.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

