Kiffblog

February 29, 2012

Ashamed

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:39 pm

Romans 1:16 For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek.

Ashamed:

  • Embarrassed or feeling guilt because of something one has done or a characteristic one has.
  • Reluctant to do something through fear of embarrassment or humiliation.
  • Embarrassed or humiliated to be associated with a person.

I am not ashamed of the gospel. Great words to speak out or sing – do I really live like that?  I’m not embarrassed or guilty because of the gospel.  I’m not embarrassed or humiliated to be associated with You (although some of Your followers are a different matter).  Reluctant to do something through fear of embarrassment or humiliation?  Ouch.  Why do I let my fear of being thought less of by other people get in the way of the gospel?  It makes no sense.  It’s a classic case of cognitive dissonance – inconsistency between my beliefs and behaviour.

Lord help me to think less of myself and more of others so that I’m at ease with any humiliation.  Help me to put Your cause above my comfort.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

