Kiffblog

March 11, 2012

Expert

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 10:18 pm

Ezra 7:10 For Ezra had set his heart to study the Law of the Lord, and to do it and to teach his statutes and rules in Israel.

I like learning new things.  When a topic takes my interest I want to gain more than just a brief understanding of it.  I immerse myself in it, reading whatever I can on the subject and gaining knowledge and wisdom from others.  It starts off being for my own benefit but, with time, I want to share this new knowledge – partly out of a desire to help people and, I suppose, partly to show off.

I see something I recognise in this verse about Ezra.  But whilst I fill my head with useless facts, he filled his head with Your law.  He didn’t just keep it in his head but he let it fill his heart as well so that it translated into action.  And he wanted others to experience the same so he didn’t keep this knowledge to himself or use it to place himself higher than the rest of Israel.

Lord help me to chase after the knowledge that’s really worth having, to become an expert in Your ways.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

