Kiffblog

April 4, 2012

All you need is…

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:06 pm

1 Corinthians 13:1 If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.2 And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.3 If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing.

A mind-blowing public speaker full of powerful and persuasive words – that’s got to really make someone stand out in Your world.  No?  Okay, it impresses me but I guess You have different standards.

Prophecy – now we’re talking.  That’s a gift of the Spirit so it must really mark a person as special.  No?  Still nothing?

Knowledge and understanding, really getting my head round all those tricky concepts in the Bible and ultimately knowing You and knowing more about You.  Have I made it yet?  No?

Okay then, faith.  Without faith it’s impossible to please You, so having faith must really make me stand out.  What, still nothing?  Even after I moved Everest to the middle of the Pacific?

Right then, what if I give everything I have away to the poor.  Does it get better than that?  Oh, apparently it does.

Okay, the ultimate sacrifice.  If I give up my life as a martyr then surely I’m right up there in Your hall of fame.  Surely?  You’re not even counting that?

All of these things are good but not in themselves.  The only thing that makes an action or a person worthy is the motivation – love.  Without love, my greatest achievement is worthless, even if I had good intentions.  Love has to be the driving force behind everything I do, not self-fulfilment or even trying to please You.

Lord give me a heart that’s overflowing with love.  Destroy the selfishness that drives my behaviour and let Your love flood out.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

