Kiffblog

April 6, 2012

First importance

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 8:22 am

1 Corinthians 15:3 For I delivered to you as of first importance what I also received: that Christ died for our sins in accordance with the Scriptures,

This is the key to it all, the foundation stone, the most important fact.  Christ died for our sins.  For my sins.  Without that I have no hope, no future, no eternity.  I could never have cleaned myself up or sorted myself out.  I could never be good enough for You by my own efforts.  The distance was too great.  The only perfect man was tortured and killed in my place, taking the death I deserved.

It wasn’t a mistake.  It wasn’t the fault of the Romans, or the Jews.  It may seem like a miscarriage of justice to human eyes but it was a willing sacrifice.  It was, as Paul says, in accordance with the Scriptures.  This was the only plan for my redemption.

And I can only stop again, be utterly confused by the love You would show to me, shake my head, and accept that love.  Thank You.  I sometimes feel like a broken record but I’ll never be able to say thank You enough.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

