Kiffblog

April 18, 2012

Hard done by?

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:01 pm

Psalm 109:4  In return for my love they accuse me,
but I give myself to prayer.

Acting with the right intentions doesn’t guarantee the right results.  Good isn’t always met with good.  Sometimes help is met with harm, friendliness with hostility, love with hate.  The difficult part is not responding with further destructive attitudes and actions.  Even if I respond by carrying doing what’s right there’s no guarantee that I won’t get even more wrong back in return.

Sometimes there’s only one thing to do – pray.  Take all the anger, hurt and rejection that’s brewing and hand it over to You to deal with.  That’s where these Psalms are so real.  The writer doesn’t disguise their feelings but they turn the action over to You as the only one who is truly just, who doesn’t act out of revenge or hurt feelings.

Help me Lord to hold my defensive tongue, to turn to You instead, and to rest easy.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

