Kiffblog

May 26, 2012

Thin ice

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 8:01 am

Psalm 146:3  Put not your trust in princes,
in a son of man, in whom there is no salvation.
4  When his breath departs, he returns to the earth;
on that very day his plans perish.

It’s about the foundations.  The most magnificent house is going to fall if it’s built on sand, as the Bible says elsewhere.  If a person is standing on thin ice it’s only a matter of time before the ice breaks and they fall through.  It may take minutes or it may take months depending on the thickness of the ice.  Eventually a slight change in temperature, a tremor or moving water underneath will show that a temporary surface is unsafe to stand on.

It’s so easy to put my faith in people.  As much as people like to pull celebrities down, they become celebrities because we want someone to look up to, someone to follow, someone we can rely on.  The same is true for friends, family, church leaders – all can become something I trust in.  Eventually, just like the thin ice, they’ll crack and no longer hold my weight.  That’s not because they mean to but because they’re like the ice – temporary.

Does this mean I never trust people, rely on them, look to them for help and support?  Far from it.  I need good people in my life as much as I need to be a good friend, husband, father, brother, son, team member, employee, volunteer.  I need to remember that we all fail and that the amount of hurt I feel when someone fails me reflects how much expectation I put on them to be perfect.  We’re all imperfect and we need each other’s love and support when we fall more than any other time.

Help me Lord to base my life on You, the foundation that never shifts, melts or breaks.  Give me a loving and uncynical view of Your people so that together we can fall, pick each other up and point each other back to the firm ground.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

