Kiffblog

June 18, 2012

Cut off

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 6:54 pm

Proverbs 18:1  Whoever isolates himself seeks his own desire;
he breaks out against all sound judgment.

This is a proverb of two halves, dealing with the same subject: deliberately cutting myself off from other people.

Part 1: Self-reliant is selfish.  It’s easy to fool myself that by doing things by myself I’m actually helping others by not getting in their way.  The truth is that the more I draw into myself, the less I’m concerned about others’ needs.  I wouldn’t know who was in trouble or needed help as I’d be too wrapped up in my own troubles.  The more I shut the world away, the smaller my world becomes.  The focus of my attention ends up as me because I don’t know anything else.

Part 2: Solitary is stupid.  Isolation is idiocy.  I know I’m not perfect, I know all my failings and the gaping holes in my knowledge, experience and ability.  So why would I try to go it alone?  I’m never going to get the best results in anything by  myself, no matter how much I may feel like it at times.

There’s a whole world of people out there who I can help and who can help me.  I’d be a self-centered fool to think and act otherwise.

Lord help me to remember, when I just feel like shutting myself away, that I wasn’t designed to go it alone.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

