Kiffblog

June 21, 2012

Poor

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 6:35 pm

Matthew 5:3 “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Poor: deficient or lacking in something specified.

Poor people know what they lack.  If I don’t know that I’m missing something then I’m not poor in that area.  Being poor in spirit is not just a condition, it’s a state of awareness.  It’s knowing that I’m a hopeless mess, that I can’t really do anything in my own strength, that my best is worthless, that without You I’m nothing.  It’s possible to be in this state and not acknowledge it, to act as if I’m rich.  When I open my eyes and admit to the truth, I see that I’m desperately poor.

The good news is that this is exactly the entrance requirement to Your kingdom.  There’s no place for the self-sufficient.  Only by seeing my poverty and admitting my need for You do I qualify.  It’s backwards in a way: the poorer I see myself, the richer I become.

Lord help me to see my own efforts for what they are.  Help me to rely on You completely, to see my utter poverty and to rely on Your riches.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

