Kiffblog

June 29, 2012

Mercy

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 8:28 am

Matthew 9:13 Go and learn what this means, ‘I desire mercy, and not sacrifice.’ For I came not to call the righteous, but sinners.”

Jesus’ audience, the Pharisees, followed the law to the extreme but missed the key messages.  It’s easy for me to do the same today.  Rules, whether they’re pleasant or not, are usually clear and easy to follow.  A list of sacrifices with specific instructions on timing, type of animal and location may be difficult to remember but straightforward to put into action.  If I lived in Jesus’ time I’d probably be trying my best to keep up with all the requirements of the law right down to the letter.  Make sacrifices?  Okay, I’ll do that, I know what, when, where and how.  Be merciful?  That’s more difficult.  It’s not specific.  I can’t tick it off on my to-do list.  It requires thought, prayer, letting Your Word sink into my heart and work its way out in my life.

In many ways the Pharisees were choosing the easy way out by focussing on specific religious actions and sidestepping the more fundamental questions of character and heart.  That challenge remains today.

Lord help me to be merciful, to show Your heart above any rules and regulations.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

