Kiffblog

July 7, 2012

Stop and listen

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 10:09 am

Ecclesiastes 5:1 Guard your steps when you go to the house of God. To draw near to listen is better than to offer the sacrifice of fools, for they do not know that they are doing evil.

I like doing.  Doing feels so much more productive than stopping and listening. I get a sense of achievement and satisfaction from doing.  Stopping and listening can feel like wasted time when there’s so many other things to be done.

As usual, I’ve got my priorities all wrong.  It’s much better to listen to You than to be busy, even if I’m supposedly being busy in Your service.  To know what You want is better than to rush around guessing.  To know You is better than to  do things for You.

Still my mind Lord so that I can hear from You.  Help me to shut out the distractions of the world and the activities that occupy my mind.  Give me You.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

