Kiffblog

July 13, 2012

No rest for the righteous

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 11:22 pm

Joshua 13:1 Now Joshua was old and advanced in years, and the Lord said to him, “You are old and advanced in years, and there remains yet very much land to possess.

Joshua 14:10 And now, behold, the Lord has kept me alive, just as he said, these forty-five years since the time that the Lord spoke this word to Moses, while Israel walked in the wilderness. And now, behold, I am this day eighty-five years old.11 I am still as strong today as I was in the day that Moses sent me; my strength now is as my strength was then, for war and for going and coming.

Joshua and Caleb were the last survivors of their generation.  They were the two people who believed the promise and saw it come to pass.  They could be forgiven for wanting some rest once they finally reached the Promised Land.  Instead they still had work to do.  Their age counted for nothing against the size of the task ahead of them.  Their faith carried them to the land of blessing but their obedience spurred them on to greater things.

I don’t want to sit back and relax in my salvation.  I know that there’s nothing I can do that will make You love me more but I know there are so many things you’ve called me to do for Your glory.  Lord give me the strength to keep serving You for many years.  Let me fill my days with obedient gratitude until the very last hour when You bring me home.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

