Kiffblog

July 16, 2012

Investment

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 10:25 pm

Matthew 25:20 And he who had received the five talents came forward, bringing five talents more, saying, ‘Master, you delivered to me five talents; here I have made five talents more.’

The talents that are talked about in this parable are units of currency but, due to the word used, I tend to read it in light of my non-financial ‘talents’.  It can actually be taken to refer to everything I have.  It’s easy to picture investing money wisely as it yields tangible results – sow money, reap money.  The other ‘talents’ are more difficult to see producing a direct return.  If I invest my time, I don’t get more time.  If I invest my abilities well, I don’t get more abilities.

The point of the parable is not that the good servants made money, it’s that they took what was entrusted to them by their master and increased his estate with it.  That’s the measure of how well I’m using my time, money and abilities.  Is Your Kingdom increased by how I use what You’ve entrusted to me?  Is Your glory made known?  Are lives changed, do people know You better, because of how I live?

Lord give me an ever-increasing awareness of what You’ve given me and how I’m to use it.  Let me be someone who invests my life to generate a great return for Your Name’s sake.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

