Kiffblog

July 20, 2012

Forsaken

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 6:46 pm

Matthew 27:46 And about the ninth hour Jesus cried out with a loud voice, saying, “Eli, Eli, lema sabachthani?” that is, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”

At the last moment, as Jesus took my sins on himself, he felt completely abandoned, cut off from You.  I can’t find any human examples that can help explain this or put it into context.  In that moment the Father and The Son, who are One, felt separated, the perfect union broken.  I can’t even begin to understand this.  No lurid description of Roman torture methods and the physiological effects of crucifixion could reveal a greater degree of pain.  It’s a level of utter despair that goes far beyond the physical suffering that Jesus had to endure.

For me.

Yet again I’m left completely bewildered but thankful. Thank You Lord that the ultimate price was paid for me.  I don’t, and never will, deserve it.  Thank You.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

