Kiffblog

July 27, 2012

Too easy

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 8:36 pm

Judges 7:2 The Lord said to Gideon, “The people with you are too many for me to give the Midianites into their hand, lest Israel boast over me, saying, ‘My own hand has saved me.’

When things don’t seem to be going well, when I’m feeling the job’s too big or I just don’t have the resources, it can feel like You aren’t close to me.  When I feel completely up to the task, that I can handle anything, that’s really the more dangerous place to be.  Gideon gathered his army ready to strike at the Midianites.  He was adequately equipped and ready to defeat them in his own strength.  Too easy.  What would Israel have learned from this?  They’d have learned that a good general with a large army could defeat their enemies.  They’d have forgotten what got them into this situation in the first place: forgetting You.  By taking Gideon’s thousands away and leaving him with a handful, You ensured that he relied on You, his men relied on You and all Israel saw Your power.  Job done.

When I feel like I’ve got nothing to give, it’s the perfect time for You to use me.  That’s when I know it’s all You.  It’s always You but I have a tendency to think I’ve done things by my own efforts.  Lord, keep me trusting in and relying on You.  However much You bless me, never let me believe I can make it by myself.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

