Kiffblog

August 6, 2012

Priest or prostitute?

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 8:26 pm

Judges 17:10 And Micah said to him, “Stay with me, and be to me a father and a priest, and I will give you ten pieces of silver a year and a suit of clothes and your living.” And the Levite went in.

In this story of how far Israel had fallen, a thief confesses, is given back the proceeds of his crime to make an idol and offers a Levite the job of being his own personal priest.  It’s hard to know whether the Levite knew better, or whether the traditional role of his tribe had been forgotten.  The fact that Micah wanted to hire him as a priest suggests that the Levites were still seen as the religious people, if no longer true to Your teachings.  Far from being a priest, this man became a religious prostitute, selling his ministry to the highest bidder and going against Your clear commandments in the process.

I could look around and point the finger today at people who seem to have done the same thing and sold out their ministry for fame and fortune.  But as always I need to challenge myself first.  Whenever I compromise on Your will and Your way to get something for myself, I’m treading the same path.  It may not be money but it could be fame, praise or pleasing people.  There’s a constant need to check myself for any evidence that I’m selling out for a cheap and temporary wage.

Lord keep my eyes on You and on Your will, whatever the cost.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

