Kiffblog

August 12, 2012

Like a child

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 8:24 am

Mark 10:14 But when Jesus saw it, he was indignant and said to them, “Let the children come to me; do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God.

Children, aren’t they just adorable?  Mine especially, waking up before 7:00 after a day when we were up for nearly 20 hours and ruining any chance of a relaxing lie-in.  And I’m meant to be like them to enter Your kingdom?  Let’s think about this for a moment:

  • They’re loud – they like to shout, sing, laugh and talk.
  • They’re shameless – if they want something they’ll ask for it or just take it.
  • They’re inquisitive – they don’t take ‘just because’ as a satisfactory explanation.
  • They’re persistent – “no” means “if you ask me a hundred more times I’ll say yes”.
  • They’re active – there’s no time for sleeping or having a nice quiet sit-down, there are things to be done.
  • They’re hungry – it’s impossible to fill them up and they always want more.

Okay, I’m starting to understand.  The things that can drive me mad sometimes are behaviours that You expect from Your children.  When Jesus made this statement he wasn’t basing it on an idealised view of children.  He knew about the sort of things I frown on in kids and saw the virtue in them.

Lord give me Your eyes to see what You see.  Give me patience with my own children and let me learn from them and unlearn so much of what society has taught me.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

