Kiffblog

August 13, 2012

Keep forgiving

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:48 am

Mark 11:25 And whenever you stand praying, forgive, if you have anything against anyone, so that your Father also who is in heaven may forgive you your trespasses.”

I know that the Lord’s prayer contains that extremely challenging line: forgive us our sins as we forgive those who sin against us.  It’s a verse that I’ve heard preached a number of times and it never gets any easier.  The same challenge is presented here in a passage where Jesus is teaching the disciples about faith.  After telling them that they can ask for anything in prayer, believe that it will be given to them and receive it, he adds this: whenever you stand praying, forgive.

There doesn’t seem to be a natural connection here between bold faith and forgiveness.  But yet again, when teaching on prayer, Jesus makes forgiveness a central part and links it to my own forgiveness.  Is it because this is a problem area for everyone, something that turns Your ear away from me?  Forgiving other people turns the spotlight back on me for a moment and makes sure my heart is right with other people.  It also focuses my attention on Your forgiveness to me.  It leads me to repentance for what I’ve done.  It makes me thankful that You choose not to give me what I deserve and instead give me what I don’t deserve.  Forgiving and accepting forgiveness makes my requests more likely to be heard because they will come from a broken and humble heart.  Forgiveness kills selfish ambitions.  It purifies my prayers.

Lord thank You that You forgive me.  Let me deal with other people as You have dealt with me, to forgive and keep forgiving every time I pray.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

