Kiffblog

September 14, 2012

Busy doing nothing important

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 11:09 pm

Luke 10:40 But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me.”

I can get so caught up in the need to do something, to be busy, that I lose track of why I’m doing it.  Like Martha, I get distracted by the what and lose the why.  Martha lost sight of who was in her house.  She got so caught up in the housework and trying to look after her guest that she didn’t spend any time with him.  Instead, she got angry with her sister for not helping with her misguided workload.

I know in my head that working for You is not as important as simply being with You, spending time talking to You, listening to You, reading Your word.  I know that service should come as a result of my relationship for You, not as a substitute for it.  I know it but I don’t necessarily live it.

Lord calm my busy mind. Take away my need to be occupied.  Give me more of You.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

