Kiffblog

September 17, 2012

Less stuff

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 9:17 pm

 

Luke 12:15 And he said to them,”Take care, and be on your guard against all covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.”

I like stuff.  Whatever I’m most interested in at the time, there’s always some new item that I must have.  There’s the next big thing that will take me to the next level.  For a few minutes, until it becomes obsolete.  Then there’s something else that I must own. Now.

It’s pretty clear that this sort of mindset isn’t what You call me to have.  I should be storing up treasures in heaven, not on earth.  Getting my finances under control has taken away the means for accumulating ‘new things’ but not the desire.  I need to ensure that what money I have spare doesn’t get frittered away but invested for Your purposes, in whatever way that may be.

Lord, I want to live Your way.  Give me the strength to resist material temptations and to use what I have wisely.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

