Kiffblog

September 20, 2012

Anything but that

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 11:01 pm

Psalm 51:11  Cast me not away from your presence,
and take not your Holy Spirit from me.

This Psalm is a well-known cry for forgiveness.  It comes after Nathan the prophet confronted David about sleeping with another man’s wife then having him killed.  He was told that there would be evil raised up from within his own house, that his wives would be publicly taken by someone else and that his son would die.  These are things that I think I’d be asking You to take away from me.  I’d be praying, pleading that You wouldn’t punish me in those ways.  David didn’t do that.  He seemed to accept his punishment.

There was one thing that he did beg: that You wouldn’t turn Your back on him and cast him out – anything but that.  He valued Your presence before anything else.  He could endure any punishment as long as he knew Your Spirit was with him.  It’s a great demonstration of what was most important to him  in the world.  Would I honestly say the same?

Lord I want to put You first.  Help me to know You better and to really value You more than anything or anyone else.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

