Kiffblog

September 22, 2012

Just doing my job

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:03 pm

Luke 17:10 So you also, when you have done all that you were commanded, say, ‘We are unworthy servants;t we have only done what was our duty.'”

This section of scripture punches me in the face every time.  I want to think that I just get on with the job and don’t really care about being thanked for it.  The fact that this verse always stands out to me suggests otherwise.

When a worker does a job well they may gain a sense of satisfaction for a short time but there’s no time to rest.  The next task needs doing.  There’s no time to sit back and bask in the glow of a succesful mission.  The boss isn’t going to give them the day off in gratitude for doing the job they’re paid to do.

Should I be pleased when I do a job well?  Maybe, briefly, while I’m moving on to the next thing.  My service for You should be freely given, of the highest quality and with no expectation of reward or sense of entitlement.  I can’t impress You by working a little bit harder. You love me as much as You ever will, whatever I do.  I should be working flat-out for You because You deserve it, not for a pat on the back and a “well done”.

Lord, You’ve already done everything for me.  I want to do what I can for You, whatever that may be and however thankless it is.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

