Kiffblog

September 28, 2012

Threat or opportunity?

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 11:04 pm

Luke 21:12 But before all this they will lay their hands on you and persecute you, delivering you up to the synagogues and prisons, and you will be brought before kings and governors for my name’s sake.13 This will be your opportunity to bear witness.

In my comfort-oriented mind, persecution and suffering aren’t good things.  At best, they might be learning experiences – the sort of thing I’ll look back on wisely in a few years’ time and reflect on how they shaped me into a better person.  I’d usually be busy wallowing or working out how to quickly get past this stage of life.  I wouldn’t be spotting opportunities to spread Your word.  That’s exactly what Jesus points out here: sometimes the persecution will present chances to do something different or speak to someone new.  It’s not about ignoring or downplaying my problems, it’s about looking for ways to use them to Your advantage.

Lord, help me to see the opportunities open to me in all situations, particularly when times are tough.  Help me to put Your work above my problems.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

