Kiffblog

October 16, 2012

Reminiscence

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:32 pm

Psalm 77:11 I will remember the deeds of the Lord;
yes, I will remember your wonders of old.
12 I will ponder all your work,
and meditate on your mighty deeds.

When I look back at the past and remember good times, I end up thinking that things aren’t like they used to be.  Reminiscing tends to glorify the past and diminish the present, let alone the future.  The psalmist here is making a conscious choice to look back at the past and remind themself what You had done in days gone by.  This isn’t to bemoan how bad things are in the present but to encourage themself that what You’ve done before You can do again.

Unlike so much in this world, You never change.  What I see of You in the past, who You are and what You’ve done, holds true today and will hold true for the rest of eternity.  When I look back I should be filled with hope because I know that You are able to do what You’ve done before and even beyond that.  Your power doesn’t diminish with time.  You are not subject to decay and decline.  You are the one constant thing in this life.

Lord give me clear hindsight, confidence for today and burning hope for tomorrow.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

