Kiffblog

October 18, 2012

Inscrutable

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:06 pm

Romans 11:33 Oh, the depth of the riches and wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are his judgments and how inscrutable his ways!

Yes, I’ll admit that I looked up the word ‘inscrutable’, just to be sure what it means:

Impossible to understand or interpret; impenetrable; mysterious

That seems like a fair assessment by Paul.  As another Paul (Weller) sings in ‘The Changing Man’:

The more I see, the more I know,
The more I know, the less I understand

In many ways, the deeper I know You, the less sense You make.  It can be frustrating at times but ultimately I know that I’m on the good side of the deal.  It’s as if I won the lottery without buying a ticket – inexplicable but something that I really wouldn’t question too deeply.  It’s possible to spend so long trying to understand you that I forget to simply enjoy You.

Thank You Lord for your inscrutability – that You love me despite it making no sense.  You are the great mystery.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

