Kiffblog

October 19, 2012

Sacrifice

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 11:24 pm

Romans 12:1 I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.

A true sacrifice can’t be taken back.  It’s gone, it’s final, it’s irrevocable.  That sounds great in theory but I’m not so good at the practice.  There’s an old saying about living sacrifices: they have a tendency to crawl off the altar.   That’s me.  No matter how much I may mean to give You everything, I start to drift off and find my attention wandering.  It’s not an outright act of rebellion but it heads in the same direction.

The flip side is that a living sacrifice can choose to climb back on the altar.  I can recognise when I’m not where I should be and I can come back.  I can offer myself completely to You again.  And again.

Lord I want to be Yours, even if my actions don’t always show it.  Please accept my sacrifice each time I bring it.

I may be weak
But Your Spirit’s strong in me
My flesh may fail
But my God you never will

(‘Give Me Faith’ by Elevation Worship)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

