Kiffblog

October 22, 2012

Bear with

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 6:50 pm

Romans 15:1 We who are strong have an obligation to bear with the failings of the weak, and not to please ourselves.

I’m not quite sure where I sit on the strong – weak spectrum but I’d say, probably like most people, I’m not at either extreme.  This means I can take two things from this verse.

Firstly, I can expect or at least request some understanding and patience from people stronger than me.  When I mess up, either through wrong action or inaction, it’s part of my growing process.  I know You don’t count me out for my mistakes and I should be able to receive the same acceptance from Your people, although I know this doesn’t always happen.

Secondly, I can turn that last paragraph back on myself.  I may be stronger in some ways than some people.  My role is to support, encourage and accept them, not to look down on them, get annoyed or become impatient with their lack of growth.  I need to take the love and acceptance You’ve shown me and let it flow out.

Lord give me greater strength in you and a greater love for the weak.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

