Kiffblog

October 24, 2012

Starting again

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:26 pm

Ezekiel 47:13 Thus says the Lord God: “This is the boundary by which you shall divide the land for inheritance among the twelve tribes of Israel. Joseph shall have two portions.

I’ve been reading all about the temple in Ezekiel for the last few days.  I wasn’t paying that much attention really.  I was about to skim-read today’s chapter when I realised why I found myself rushing through these sections.  It’s because I’ve read it all before, and I don’t mean reading these specific chapters before.  I’ve read all about the division of Israel between the tribes when they crossed the Jordan under the leadership of Joshua.  I’ve read of David’s preparations for the building of the temple and Solomon’s execution of the plan.  It’s all familiar.

But here we are in a later time, in a different place of captivity.  In an echo of their time in Egypt, Your people were once again a small, oppressed, displaced nation.  This time they were in this situation because of their rebellion against You.  Despite that, what I read in these chapters is a new start.  There are plans for a new temple.  There is a new division of the land between the tribes, a new settling of the Promised Land.  You never abandoned Your people, even if they abandoned You.  You remained faithful to Your plan for them and You gave them a fresh start.

Thank You Lord that You are the God of second chances, that You don’t write me off after each mistake but You give me a chance to start again.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

