Kiffblog

October 25, 2012

Believe before asking

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 6:58 pm

James 1:5 If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. 6 But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind.

This is quite strong stuff.  Before asking for something from You I need to be sure that You can deliver.  At a simple level this makes perfect sense: why would I ask someone for something that I know they can’t give me?  In some ways I know You are able to do anything but I’m not sure I always pray like that.  I look at the natural state of things and I grade prayers according to their difficulty in being answered.  It’s absurd really, given that nothing is too difficult for You.

What I need to do is focus on You and Your power, not on the size of the problem.  You can do all things and I need to stop and forcefully remind myself of that before I ask You for something.  Then I know that I’m talking to someone with power and authority to sort out the situation.

Lord give me confidence and faith before I ask and the firm knowledge that You are able.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

