Kiffblog

October 29, 2012

Wisdom versus knowledge

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 6:22 pm

James 3:17 But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, impartial and sincere.

I like to know things.  When I become interested in a subject I tend to research it in-depth and end up knowing quite a lot of information in a short space of time.  I typically have more knowledge than real experience of most things.

There’s a big difference between knowledge and wisdom though.  Knowledge is all about information, wisdom about application.  Knowledge alone can lead to pride, conceit and arguments as I seek to prove how clever I am.  Wisdom knows when to speak and act to help other people, when to listen and learn, and when to simply keep quiet.  The wisdom that comes from You seeks to demonstrate the fruit of Your love, not facts and figures.

Lord give me wisdom before knowledge.  Let me know how to live for You and put it into practice.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

