Kiffblog

October 30, 2012

Draw near

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 9:08 pm

James 4:8 Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.

An invitation, a promise and a challenge.  I note the order of these things.  It’s not for the sinner to sort themselves out and then to draw near to You.  It’s not for me to get my head nd heart in order before I dare come anywhere near You.  First is the invitation, the welcome: come closer, don’t be afraid.  Next is the promise: You won’t reject me but You, the holy and awesome God, creator of the universe, will move in my direction and turn Your attention to me.  Finally the challenge: in response to this, change.  Don’t take this privilege for granted.  Let it make a real impact and lead to a new life.

I am blown away by the fact that You love and accept me as I am and challenged by the fact that You don’t want me to stay as I am.  I’m humbled that You would humble Yourself to draw near to me.

Lord, I want to be more like You.  Give me clean hands and a pure heart as I try to live for You.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

