Kiffblog

November 1, 2012

Good greed

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 6:51 pm

2 Kings 2:9 When they had crossed, Elijah said to Elisha, “Ask what I shall do for you, before I am taken from you.” And Elisha said, “Please let there be a double portion of your spirit on me.”

Talk about being bold.  This is taking it to the extremes, to the point where it almost seems greedy.  Elijah was a mighty prophet, someone who would stand up to the king to bring Your word.  He called down fire from heaven and it came.  He spoke and the rains came after the drought.  And here Elisha is asking for a double helping of what Elijah had.  I’d probably have said, “If I can have just a tiny percentage of what you have, I’ll be happy”.  Elisha dared to think big and ask big but not for his own sake. Elijah’s anointing didn’t exactly lead to an easy life full of material blessings.  Elisha knew that in order to do what needed to be done, he needed even more of Your spirit than Elijah had.

Do I dare to ask as big as this?  When I see Your anointing on someone, rather than grumbling about what I don’t have, am I bold enough to ask for even more?  I know I need to prove I’m worthy with what You’ve given to me but I do want more.

Lord give me more of You.  I need as much help as I can get.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

