Kiffblog

December 24, 2012

Surplus to requirements?

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 6:01 pm

Job 35:7 If you are righteous, what do you give to him?
Or what does he receive from your hand?

A very good question that was put to Job.  It’s something I’ve wondered as well.  What does it really matter if I do or don’t do something for You?  It’s not as if You really need my help.  You are the Almighty God, creator of the universe, all-powerful, all-present, all-knowing.  Nothing is impossible for You.  If You really needed to use a human to do Your will there are a few million others You could choose, most of whom are better qualified than me.

But that’s not the way You work.  For reasons I don’t fully grasp, You choose to include me in Your plans.  You could do whatever You want without me but You give me the opportunity to be involved.  It’s not because You need me but because I need You.  Doing Your will is the closest I’ll come to real fulfilment in this life.  That’s something You offer because You love me, not because You need me.

Thank You Lord that You’d even look in my direction, let alone include me in Your plans.  May I never take it for granted.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

