Kiffblog

January 6, 2013

Keep it simple

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 8:06 pm

Matthew 6:7 But when ye pray, use not vain repetitions, as the heathen do: for they think that they shall be heard for their much speaking.

As someone trying to be more disciplined in prayer I find this chapter full of practical advice.  In prayer meetings I’d often feel unworthy to speak out because I couldn’t manage more than a couple of sentences to say what I wanted to say.  I couldn’t add all the holy language to make it into a really powerful, certain to be heard and immediately answered sort of prayer.

It turns out that You’re not bothered about the flowery religious words either.  You liken this to what the heathens do.  If You only paid attention to long prayers it would suggest that Your response is based on my performance and I know that’s not how You choose to work.  You’d rather me keep it simple and speak plainly.  The model prayer that Jesus gave is straightforward and short.  What I need to do is speak my mind, tell You what I think of You, ask for what I need or long for, and keep doing it until You answer.  Simple persistence.

Thank You Lord that You listen to what I have to say, not how I say it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

