Kiffblog

February 11, 2013

Weights

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 6:58 pm

Romans 14:1 Him that is weak in the faith receive ye, but not to doubtful disputations.  2 For one believeth that he may eat all things: another, who is weak, eateth herbs.  3 Let not him that eateth despise him that eateth not; and let not him which eateth not judge him that eateth: for God hath received him.

My son wanted to help carry my music gear out from the car yesterday.  He was sure he could manage it so I let him try to lift one guitar.  Sure enough, it was too heavy for him to manage.  I could happily (okay, slight overstatement) carry two guitars and a large bag with pedal board and assorted accessories where he couldn’t carry one item.  That’s not to say that I’m physically strong.  I know I’m not.  But each person has different load-bearing capabilities.

In the same way each person has the ability to handle different freedoms.  Paul is very careful not to condemn those who feel constrained to act in certain ways because their faith is weaker in certain areas.  The strong are encouraged not to flaunt their freedom of conscience.  The weak are encouraged not to think their personal guidelines and restrictions make them holier than others.

Just because I feel free to act in certain ways (within Your will) doesn’t mean everyone should.  Just because I apply certain restrictions to myself doesn’t mean others have to abide by them (as long as they are acting within Your will).

Lord give me the sensitivity to enjoy my freedom and abide by my guidelines without putting them onto others.  In all let me put You first and others before myself.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

