Kiffblog

February 16, 2013

Not by my strength

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 6:27 pm

1 Corinthians 2:3 And I was with you in weakness, and in fear, and in much trembling. 4 And my speech and my preaching was not with enticing words of man’s wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power: 5 That your faith should not stand in the wisdom of men, but in the power of God.

I don’t have a great deal of natural ability, particularly when it comes to speaking.  I suppose I should take heart from Paul’s example here.  He didn’t have a repertoire of one-liners, amusing anecdotes or moving stories.  He didn’t try to ‘work the crowd’.  He relied on You so that You got the glory.

When I feel weak in a particular area, I do everything in my own power to try to overcome my weakness.  I need to stop trying and start relying.  If You’ve called me to do something, I need to rest in Your ability to see it done.  If I do something and no-one thinks highly of it or me but they think highly of You, that should be me ideal.

Lord, take first place.  I don’t want to claim credit for Your work.  Use my weakness for Your glory.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

