Kiffblog

March 13, 2013

Imperfect

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:54 pm

2 Corinthians 12:9 And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

“God won’t give you more than you can handle” or “God won’t put on you more than you can bear”.  Well-known ‘Bible verses’ that aren’t anywhere in the Bible.  The truth is that You will give me more than I can handle but it’s never something You can’t handle.

Paul was familiar with suffering but this unknown affliction was bad enough that he begged You to take it away from him three times.  Instead You showed him that it was to make him reliant on You.  When everything is going well and I feel good, I can lose sight of You and start to think I’ve got everything covered in my own strength.  When trouble hits I’m forced to rely on You.  You give me more than I can handle so I learn to trust in Your power to see me through.  As Paul says, Your strength is made perfect in weakness.  My weakness.  It shows that You re God and I am not, in case anyone was in any doubt.

To You be all the glory.  Keep my eyes fixed on You, no matter how high the waves may be.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

