Kiffblog

March 16, 2013

Let me think about that

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 8:42 am

John 6:60 Many therefore of his disciples, when they had heard this, said, This is an hard saying; who can hear it?

It seems strange to me.  Sometime Jesus spoke to the crowds using simple stories about things that they knew and understood.  Then he’d say something that completely baffled them.  Miracles and parables drew the curious but talk of You tended to drive them away again.

You don’t want crowds of onlookers.  You want crowds of believers.  Jesus said things that divided the group into these two camps.  That’s not to say that the believers understood any more than the onlookers.  The difference was that, as Peter said, they knew they had nowhere else to go to find words of truth and life.  The believed even when it didn’t make sense.  They didn’t let their lack of understanding be a barrier to their relationship with You.

I don’t understand everything about You.  Sometimes that frustrates me.  I want it all to be perfectly clear, rational and reasonable.  But You are so far beyond my understanding.  What I do know about You is what keeps me coming back for more.  You are good. You are love.  You are powerful.  You are in control.  You know me and yet still love me.

I do believe – help my unbelief.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

