Kiffblog

July 30, 2013

Tell me again

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 8:22 am

Judges 13:8 Then Manoah prayed, “Our Lord, please send that prophet again and let him tell us what to do for the son we are going to have.”

12 Manoah then asked, “When your promise comes true, what rules must he obey and what will be his work?”
13“Your wife must be careful to do everything I told her,” the Lord’s angel answered.

I, like most Christians, spend a lot of time listening.  Listening to sermons, listening to songs, listening to teaching, listening to prophecy, listening to prayers.  Even listening directly to You.  I like to have information.  The problem is that I have so much that I forget what I’ve learned, or I’m too busy listening to go and act on it.  I have to wait for You to tell me again before it starts to really take root.

Manoah here is a perfect example of what I mean.  You gave very clear instructions through an angel to his wife, which she then passed on to him.  His response?  To pray that You’d tell him what to do.  That was exactly what he’d just heard from his wife.  The angel didn’t give any fresh insight.  He just repeated exactly what he’d already said.  The faithful and obedient response would have been to simply take You at Your word the first time.

Lord give me a more immediate faith that acts when You speak, not needing to be told twice (or a thousand times).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

