Kiffblog

August 7, 2013

Long-term obedience

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 10:59 pm

Jeremiah 35:12-13 Then the Lord told me to say to the people of Judah and Jerusalem:I, the Lord All-Powerful, the God of Israel, want you to learn a lesson 14 from the Rechabite clan. Their ancestor Jonadab told his descendants never to drink wine, and to this very day they have obeyed him. But I have spoken to you over and over, and you haven’t obeyed me!

There isn’t a great deal to read about the Rechabites in the Bible.  A couple of mentions show them as being for You but nothing particularly special.  At some point in their history the head of the clan made a simple vow to You and his descendants stuck to it.  The nature of the vow was almost irrelevant – it was the long-term obedience that stood out.  It was this enduring faithfulness that You used to contrast against the people of Judah, whose history was a catalogue of faithlessness.

You care about the heart and obedience reveals the heart.  It’s not about waiting for a command that excites me or something that is big enough to pay special attention to.  You value the long-term accumulation of character through obedience.  I need to value it as much as You do.

Lord forgive me for the many, many things I haven’t done that I know I should have.  I want to be more like You and I want to do what pleases You, however small it may be and however long it takes.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

